The Data Mining Forum                             open-source data mining software data science journal data mining conferences high utility mining book
This forum is about data mining, data science and big data: algorithms, source code, datasets, implementations, optimizations, etc. You are welcome to post call for papers, data mining job ads, link to source code of data mining algorithms or anything else related to data mining. The forum is hosted by P. Fournier-Viger. No registration is required to use this forum!.  
Quest for specific SPM algorithm
Posted by: iisys
Date: August 02, 2017 12:39AM

Hello!

Your forum, blog and SPMF implementation have made quite an impression on me over the past few weeks. I can see your work is in high demand amongst data scientists, making it all the more impressive!

I'm a Computer Science master student and I'm working on my graduation project. I am currently in need of some advice; a nudge in the right direction.

What I have is a sequence database, where the itemsets have single items:
<a,b,c,a,b,c,d,e,a,b,c,a,b,c,a,b,c>
<g,h,i,a,b,c,a,b,c>

What I want to get from this is the pattern <a,b,c>, and (preferably) the information that it occurs 5 times in the first sequence and 2 times in the second sequence. So I am looking for the repeated subpattern, not merely the sequence with the minsupport. Algorithms such as CM-ClaSP and VMSP only return the <a,b,c,a,b,c> pattern. As such, I'm not looking for the maximal pattern and also not quite the closed pattern.

A few other requirements:
- I must be able to specify the max gap, which will be set to 1.
- I must be able to specify the minimum pattern length, which will probably be set to 2 or 3.
- I must be able to specify the minimum pattern repetitions, which will probably be set to somewhere between 5 and 10.

I'm somewhat skilled in Java, so I'm perfectly fine with modifying one of your implemented algorithms. I just don't know where to start. Do you have any suggestions?